Technical Tracks

Track 1: Ad Hoc, Mobile, and Sensor Networking (AMSN)
Track Co-Chairs:
Eirini Eleni Tsiropoulou, (University of New Mexico - USA)
Suzan Bayhan,, (University of Twente - The Netherlands)

With the proliferation of smart handheld devices, mobile data is projected to grow drastically in the next few years. Coupled with emerging machine-to-machine communications, there is a compelling need to significantly improve the current network capacity and architecture. To meet this challenge, traditional cellular networks must be more adaptive and intelligent, e.g., adaptive to different types of spectrum (white space or dedicated) and traffic patterns. They must also interconnect with other coexisting wireless networks such as Wi-Fi, mobile ad hoc networks, wireless mesh network, femtocells and small cells, etc., to support a wide range of applications. Motivated further by the proliferation of Internet of Things and different types of communications (including M2M and D2D) ad hoc networking is still envisioned as a promising alternative communication and networking paradigm, for either replacing or complementing infrastructure-based approaches. Moreover, the wide use of various sensor devices and the need for their interconnection and communication feed the necessity for designing ad hoc networking solutions. This is further intensified by the emerging and disruptive innovations in the areas of Sensor/Embedded Networks and Pervasive Computing. Accordingly, this track also seeks novel, innovative and exciting submissions broadly related to the sensor and embedded systems, sensor networks, mobile sensing, pervasive and ubiquitous computing.

Track Topics:
  • Mobile Ad Hoc networks
  • Innovative communication, computing and networking technologies for embedded and/or wearable sensors
  • Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces-based communications
  • Seamless heterogeneous wireless networks
  • Dynamic spectrum access wireless networks
  • Cognitive radio networks
  • Wireless programming paradigms and middleware technologies
  • Mobility management and modeling
  • Wireless infrastructure planning and deployment
  • Lessons learned from long-term deployment experiences of wireless technologies
  • Radio access technologies and evolution
  • Wireless sensor networks
  • Wireless mesh networks
  • RFID technologies
  • Energy-efficient protocol design
  • Wireless MAC, routing and transport layer protocols
  • Cross-layer design and optimization
  • Wireless data offloading
  • Wireless network coding
  • Device to Device communication
  • Design and implementation of mobile phone, wearable and/or novel embedded systems based computing platforms
  • Innovative communication and networking technologies for embedded and/or wearable sensors
  • Energy and resource efficient implementation of mobile and embedded systems
TPC List:
  • Gurkan Gur, ZHAW, Switzerland
  • Setareh Maghsudi, University of Tübingen, Germany
  • Ilker Demirkol, Univ. Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Gurkan Solmaz, NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany
  • Esa Hyytiä, University of Iceland, Iceland
  • Abbas Mehrabi, Northumbria University, UK
  • Hana Khamfroush, University of Kentucky, USA
  • Pranvera Kortoci, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Estefania Coronado, Fundació i2CAT, Spain
  • Cigdem Sengul, Brunel University, UK
  • Amiya Nayak, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Debashri Roy, Northeastern University, USA
  • Damla Turgut, University of Central Florida, USA
  • Valeria Loscri, INRIA, France
  • Falko Dressler, TU Berlin, Germany
  • Bo Sheng, University of Massachusetts Boston, USA
  • Kui Wu, University of Victoria, Canada
  • Kewei Sha, University of Houston-Clear Lake, USA
  • Kang Chen, Southern Illinois University, USA
  • Mike P. Wittie, Gianforte School of Computing, Montana State University, USA
  • Peng Liu, Hangzhou Dianzi University, China
  • Tao Han, UNC Charlott, USA
  • Yuben Qu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Wei Gao, University of Pittsburg, USA
  • Fei Qin, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Violet Syrotiuk, Arizona State University, USA
  • Eirini Tsiropoulou, University of New Mexico
  • Eirini Eleni Tsiropoulou, National Technical University of Athens
  • Suzan Bayhan, University of Twente