

Call for Papers ICCCN 2008: 17th International Conference on Computer Communication Networks

http://www.icccn.org/icccn08/ August 4-7, 2008 St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands, USA Sponsor: Technical Co-Sponsorship by IEEE ComSoc

Future Internet Architectures and Protocols Track

The Internet has emerged as a remarkably successful infrastructure for data communication. Globally federated autonomous networks provide ubiquitous connectivity across diverse communication media. The Internet's layered protocol architecture provides sufficient flexibility to provide effective support for network applications ranging from web to peer-to-peer and TV-over-IP. However, limitations in manageability, security, and innovation in the network core have proven to be fundamental problems in the Internet architecture. In response to these shortcomings, researchers and funding agencies around the globe are in the process of exploring novel network architectures and protocols. This symposium seeks submissions on novel research ideas relating to architectural principles and specific implementation mechanisms. We solicit original and unpublished papers on all aspects of future Internet architectures and protocols including, but not limited to, the following topics:

- Network architectures and distributed protocols
- Architectural support for security
- Scalable resource allocation and management
- Architectural support for availability
- Network virtualization
- High-performance router designs

- Cross-layer designs
- Network services and network processing
- Advanced wireless and optical technologies in the context of Internet architectures
- Economic models and incentives
- Network measurement
- Platforms for large-scale experimentation

Paper submission: Notification of acceptance: Camera ready papers due: Important Dates

March 9, 2008 (FIRM) May 12, 2008 June 1, 2008

Submission, Review, and Registration Instructions

Submission of manuscripts: Submitted manuscripts must be of length up to 6 pages unless the authors are willing to pay the over-length charges at the time of publication (manuscripts may NOT exceed 8 pages). The manuscripts must be submitted in standard IEEE camera-ready format (double-column, 10-pt font). Files should be submitted in PDF format and formatted for 8.5x11-inch paper. Submitted papers may NOT have appeared in, nor be under consideration for, another journal or conference. The Program Committee reserves the right to NOT review papers that either exceed the above length specification or have been submitted or published elsewhere. Submissions must include the title, abstract, keywords, author(s) and affiliation, e-mail address(es), fax/phone number(s), and postal address(es). In case of multiple authors, indicate which author is responsible for correspondence about the submission.

Review and publication of manuscripts: All submitted papers will be reviewed and judged on originality, correctness, relevance, quality of presentation, and technical strength and significance. An accepted paper must be registered and presented by one of the authors at the conference venue and must be limited to 6 pages (with an allowance of up to two extra pages at a cost of US\$150 per extra page beyond 6 pages) in standard IEEE camera-ready format.

Registration: Each full registration covers up to three papers by an author.

Symposium Co-Chairs:	Sergey Gorinsky, Washington University in St. Louis Tilman Wolf, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Symposium Program Committee:	Mark Allman, International Computer Science Institute, USA Ken Calvert, University of Kentucky, USA Rudra Dutta, North Carolina State University, USA Nick Feamster, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA Wu-Chun Feng, Virginia Tech, USA Marco Gruteser, Rutgers University, USA Jussi Kangasharju, University of Helsinki, Finland Jasleen Kaur, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA Peter Key, Microsoft Research, Cambridge, UK Yevgeni Koucheryavy, Tampere Univ. of Technology, Finland Aleksandar Kuzmanovic, Northwestern University, USA Yan Luo, University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA Martin May, ETH Zurich, Switzerland Vasileios Pappas, IBM Research, USA K. K. Ramakrishnan, AT&T Labs - Research, USA Kamil Sarac, University of Texas at Dallas, USA Joe Touch, ISI - University of Southern California, USA Vassilis Tsaoussidis, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece Arun Venkataramani, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA Joerg Widmer, DoCoMo Euro-Labs, Germany Murat Yuksel, University of Nevada - Reno, USA

Technical Program Committee