ICCCN2005 Technical Program

October 17-19, 2005
San Diego, California USA
Marriott Hotel San Diego Mission Valley
Conference Website: http://icccn.sce.umkc.edu

Monday, Oct. 17, 2005

 7:15 – 4:00 : Registration Desk Opens

 8:00 – 8:30 : Opening Ceremony (General and Program Chairs)

 8:30 – 9:30 : Keynote Speech I

                       Network Diversification - Enabling Innovation in Network Architecture and Services”
                       Professor Jonathan Turner
                       Washington University in St. Louis 

Monday 10:00 – 11:30

Session 1: Ad Hoc Routing I 

 Chair:  Prasun Sinha, Ohio State University



Session 2: Mobility

 Chair: Jorge Cobb, University of Texas at Dallas



Session 3: Routing

 Chair: Itamar Elhanany, University of Tennesee at Knoxville


Monday 13:00 – 14:30

Session 4: Energy Efficient Sensors

 Chair: Yu Wang, University of North Carolina




 Chair: Nirmala Shenoy, Rochester Institute of Technology



Session 6: Multicast  

 Chair: Hongsik Choi, Virginia Commonwealth University


Monday 15:00 – 16:30

Session 7: Ad Hoc Networking

 Chair: Jingyuan Zhang, University of Alabama



Session 8: Flow Control

 Chair:  Kurt Rohloff, UIUC



Session 9: Switching & Scheduling

 Chair: Manimaran Govindarasu, Iowa State University


Monday 16:45 – 18:15:  Panel Session  

Title:  "The Next Big Bang in Wireless and Mobile Communication"

Chair:  Dr. Sandra Thuel, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies

Moderator: Prof. Rene Cruz, University of California at San Diego (UCSD)




    Dr. Rajiv Laroia, Flarion Technologies

        Founder and CTO of Flarion Technologies


        Dr. Preston Marshall, DARPA

        Program Manager, Next Generation Communications and Connectionless

        Networking, Advanced Technology Office, Defense Advanced Research

        Projects Agency (DARPA), U.S. Department of Defense


        Dr. Joseph Evans, NSF

        Program Director of Computer and Network Systems, NSF

        (NeTS program)


        Professor Ramesh Rao, UC San Diego

        Professor and Qualcomm endowed chair in the ECE department for UC

        San Diego (UCSD). Also Director of UCSD Division of the California

        Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology


Conference Reception:  Monday, Oct. 17, 2005,  18:30 – 20:00

Poster Paper Session: during reception     

Tuesday, Oct. 18, 2005

 7:30 – 4:00 : Registration Desk Opens

 8:30 – 9:30 : Keynote Speech II
                       Security and IP-Based 3G Wireless Networks"

                       Professor Thomas La Porta
                       Pennsylvania State University

Tuesday 10:00 – 11:30

Session 10: Ad Hoc Routing II

 Chair: Wuxu Peng, Texas State University



Session 11: Optical Networks

 Chair: Byrav Ramamurthy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln



Session 12: Denial-of-Service

 Chair: Chin-Tser Huang, University of South Carolina


Tuesday 13:00 – 14:30

Session 13: MANET Performance

 Chair: Hee Yong Youn, Sungkyunkwan University, South Korea



Session 14: WDM Networks

 Chair: Driss Benhaddou, Univ. of Houston



Session 15: Internet Security

 Chair: Kabekode Bhat, Pennsylvania State University


Tuesday 15:00 – 16:30

Session 16: QoS and Security in Ad Hoc Networks

 Chair:   Ying  Cai, Iowa State University



Session 17: Video Transport

 Chair: Wu-chun Feng, Los Alamos National Laboratory



Session 18: Overlay Networking  

 Chair: Do Young Eun, North Carolina State University


Tuesday 16:45 – 18:25

Session 19: Best Paper Candidates I

 Chair: Sandy Thuel, Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies



Session 20: Best Paper Candidates II  

 Chair: Yuanyuan Yang, SUNY Stony Brook



Session 21: Best Paper Candidates III

 Chair: Luiz DaSilva, Virginia Tech



Conference Dinner Banquet/Awards: Oct. 18, 2005, 19:00 – 22:00

  Banquet Keynote Speech:Roaming, Hand-Off and Services Continuity for Voice Services in

                                                Converged Wireless Networks”

                                                  Dr. Giridhar D. Mandyam, Director, Radio Communications Laboratory

                                                and Head, Nokia Research Center San Diego, California Division.


Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2005

 8:00 – 2:00 : Registration Desk Opens

 8:30 – 9:30 : Keynote Speech III

                       Future of Wireless Networks

                       Dr. George Rittenhouse, Lucent Technologies
                       Vice President, Bell Laboratories Wireless Research
                       Lucent's CTO for Corporate Strategy

Wednesday 10:00 – 11:30

Session 22: Sensor Networks

 Chair:  Stephen Bush, GE Global Research



Session 23: Voice over IP (VoIP)

 Chair:  Wei Liu, Accenture Communication & High Tech.



Session 24: Network Management

 Chair: Keith Vanderveen, Sandia National Laboratories


Wednesday 13:00 – 14:30

Session 25: Sensor Network Location and tracking

 Chair: Qing-An Zeng, Univ. of Cincinnati



Session 26: Streaming and Coding

 Chair: Haohong Wang, Qualcomm



Poster Session Papers (Monday evening during reception):

703, Improvement Research on Transmission Mechanism of Adaptive Forward Error Correction Code, Ying Xiong, Yu Zhang, Jin Xin-yu, Zhejiang University, China.

706, A Simulation Study on the Performance Evaluation of UMTS with Multi-service, Ling Luo, Jianjun Yang and Kangsheng Chen, Zhejiang University, China.

707, Bounds on Throughput Capacity of MANETs, Oualid Chaker and Jean Conan, École Polytechnique de Montréal, Canada.

708, Adaptable video streaming over wireless networks, Dmitri Jarnikov, Johan Lukkien and Peter Stok, van der, TUE, Netherlands.

710, Web Services Management and Selection: Applied Performance Mechanisms, Ruth Lennon and John Murphy, Letterkenny Institute of Technology, Ireland.

715, Real-time video over wireless ad-hoc networks, Johannes Karlsson, Haibo Li and Jerry Eriksson, Umea University, Sweden.

717, A Best First Search based Optimal Wavelength Assignment Algorithm to Minimize the Number of SONET ADMs in WDM Rings, Sethuraman J, Ambuj Mahanti, Debashis Saha and Samir      

       Sadhukhan, IIM Calcutta, India.

718, Mobile Multicast Routing for Broadband Communication Services, Shoji Yoshimura, Hajime Ueno, Keita Kawano, Kazuhiko Kinoshita and Koso Murakami, Osaka University, Japan.